Traffic

Traffic

Driver School Information
Driver License Check
Online Traffic Citation Search
State Approved Traffic Schools
Pay Your Traffic Ticket Now!
Online Compliance Citations -Coming Soon

Pay Traffic Ticket by Phone 1-386-758-2193
Contacting Us
Fax with Credit Card Payment Form

The Clerk of the Court collects all traffic fines and distributes the proceeds according to law. The total amount of a traffic fine is made up of amounts required to be paid by Florida Law as well as County and City ordinances.

Important: A traffic payment is due in the Clerk’s office by the compliance date (within 30 days of receipt of the citation). Payments received, regardless of postmark, or made after the compliance date will incur an additional $23.00 late fee and a suspension of license.

YOUR OPTIONS

Upon receipt of a traffic ticket for any violation where points may be assessed, you have 30 days from the date of issuance of the ticket to exercise any of one of three options:

OPTION 1: PAY THE TICKET

Pay the Ticket: Click here to pay now

If you choose to pay the ticket, points are assessed against your Driver’s License.

OPTION 2: GO TO DRIVER’S IMPROVEMENT SCHOOL

If you choose to go to school, you must sign the Driver Improvement Course Affdavit Form and file it with the Clerk’s office, along with your payment, within 30 days of the date you received the ticket (See #2 above). Upon receipt of your affidavit and payment you will be granted an extra 60 days to attend a driver improvement school in the State of Florida. Failure to attend the school or pay the fine will result in suspension of your license or late fees being assessed.

However, no points are assesed against your Driver’s License if you attend a driver improvement school upon approval by your State.

Driver License Check– You may use this link to see if your license is eligible for driver improvement school.

Driver School: If you are a licensed in any other State other than Florida check with your local DMV to ensure they approve a withhold of points with an out of state Driving School Election

OPTION 3: CONTEST THE TICKET IN COURT

If you choose to contest the ticket, you must make your request for a hearing in writing to the Clerk (See #3 above) within 30 days of the date of the citation. You will be notified of your court date.
You must mail or e-file the form for contesting in court. 

You may write the Clerk’s Office at:
James M. Swisher, Jr.
Clerk of Circuit Court & Comptroller
Columbia County, Florida

173 NE Hernando Avenue 
Lake City, Florida 32055
Traffic Line 1: 386-719-7588 
Traffic Line 2: 386-758-2193
Supervisor: 386-719-7403
Fax: 386-758-1337

CONTACT US

If you have any questions or comments please e-mail : traffic@columbiaclerk.com or 386-758-2193

https://www.columbiaclerk.com/pay-traffic-ticket/,

Pay Traffic Ticket

Click Here to Look Up Ticket
We also accept payments over the phone!! 386-758-2193

Automated Phone System
855-984-1187

Live Person
844-577-5649

Important Information To Know When Using This Service

  • If the traffic citation is over thirty (30) days old you will not be able to use this automated payment system or elect to attend a driver improvement course.
  • If the traffic citation relates to your vehicle registration, insurance, or driver’s license, you will not be able to use this automated payment system.
  • A convenience fee will be added to your fine amount.
  • To avoid points being assessed to your driving record, you may be eligible to attend a defensive driving course. Click here for additional information on Driver Improvement Course.
  • To determine if you are eligible for school click here to access the Driver License Check
  • By paying your traffic citation through this service, you are waiving your right to contest the citation in court. In addition, points may be assessed to your driving record.
  • Driver Improvement Course: If you elect to attend a driver improvement course and pay the fine, you must attend a driver improvement course approved by the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. Upon completion of the course, you must file your certificate of completion with the Clerk’s office, regardless of any other instructions you may receive, before your compliance date (not more than 90 days after the date of your citation). Driver improvement courses can be found in the “yellow” pages of the telephone book and on the internet. Failure to file your certificate of completion and make the required payment prior to the compliance date will nullify your school election and you will incur additional late fees and charges.
  • If the ticket number you enter has not yet been submitted into our system you may try at a later time. It may take up to seven working days for the citation to be submitted to the Clerk’s office by the agency issuing the citation.
  • Non-USA Billing Address: If the billing address for your credit card is outside the USA, you may not use this service and should contact the Clerk’s office at 386-758-2193 during the 30-day compliance period following the receipt of a citation to make payment.

You Are Now Leaving Our Website

Links to external, or third-party websites, are provided solely for visitors’ convenience. Following links to other sites is done so at your own risk and the owners of this website accept no liability for any linked sites or their content. Any link from our site to an external website does not imply that we endorse or accept any responsibility for its use. It is important for users to take necessary precautions, especially to ensure appropriate safety from viruses, worms, trojans, and other potentially destructive items. Users should review the privacy policies of external websites and other terms of use to learn more about what, why, and how they collect and use any personally identifiable information.